March 28, 2024, 13:43
bigger smaller reset     1020px Wide width Full width Reset   * *

Gildor's Forums

  Homepage Facebook Read news on Twitter Youtube channel Github page
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

« previous next »
Print
Author Topic: Problem with untextured meshes  (Read 12436 times)
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7978



View Profile WWW
« on: February 25, 2010, 15:27 »

A small example.
Let's get UT2004. All packages with skeletal meshes and animations are placed into "Animations" directory, all textures and materials are inside "Textures". Ok. Unpack umodel distribution into "Animations". Open any package:
Code:
umodel.exe 2K4_NvidiaIntro.ukx
---
Found 49 game files (5 skipped)
Loading package: 2K4_NvidiaIntro.ukx Ver: 127/29 Names: 179 Exports: 25 Imports: 38
Loading AnimNotify_Effect AnimNotify_Effect0 from package 2K4_NvidiaIntro.ukx
WARNING: package XEffects was not found
...
WARNING: package WeaponSkins was not found
WARNING: package PlayerSkins was not found
...
Umodel will show untextured mesh - you may notice "WARNING" messages about missing packages, also you may notice that umodel has found only 49 game files!
Let's try a different way.
Code:
umodel.exe -path=.. 2K4_NvidiaIntro.ukx
---
Found 848 game files (780 skipped)
Loading package: Animations/2K4_NvidiaIntro.ukx Ver: 127/29 Names: 179 Exports: 25 Imports: 38
Loading AnimNotify_Effect AnimNotify_Effect0 from package Animations/2K4_NvidiaIntro.ukx
Loading package: System/XEffects.u Ver: 127/29 Names: 1159 Exports: 917 Imports: 318
...
Loading package: Textures/WeaponSkins.utx Ver: 127/29 Names: 124 Exports: 64 Imports: 13
Loading package: Textures/PlayerSkins.utx Ver: 120/28 Names: 190 Exports: 154 Imports: 7
...
Umodel will show textured mesh. You may see that umodel has found 848 game files and successfully loaded all packages which were missed before.

Another sample.
Let's place umodel in a game directory (so "Animations" and "Textures" will be inside this directory). Start umodel with
Code:
umodel.exe 2K4_NvidiaIntro.ukx
All packages will be found, meshes will be textured.

Why?

Umodel scans game directory on startup. If you have not specified "-path" switch, it will use either directory extracted from full package filename (when you have started umodel with package name like "C:\GAMES\Unreal Anthology\UT2004\Animations\2K4_NvidiaIntro.ukx") or it will use current directory as a game root (like in examples above). Texure packages are placed outside of root in a 1st sample, but in 2nd sample we have moved root 1 level above, and all game packages becomes "under root".
Logged
pixellegolas
Sponsor
Sr. Member
*
Posts: 347


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2010, 20:12 »

I always place umodel in game root folder but sometimes it still has missing textures, I cannot come up with a sample game right now. Many do however work like lineage2, huxley etc
Logged
franman
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2015, 18:18 »

Okay so I've cut and paste the umodel.exe, along with the SDL2.dll file (not the umodel_32 folder that contains the contents, but the contents themselves) in this directory C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Unreal Tournament 3 and edited my environment variables, but on the command line when I've typed umodel.exe UN_Rock.upk I get this error message:

Found 12 game files (5644 skipped)
ERROR: unable to find/load package UN_Rock.upk
« Last Edit: October 21, 2015, 18:21 by franman » Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7978



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2015, 19:34 »

Use UI to specify game location.
Nice tutorials are here: http://www.gildor.org/smf/index.php/topic,1690.0.html (see newest 2 posts there)
Logged
Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Leviathan design by Bloc | XHTML | CSS