March 19, 2024, 11:09
bigger smaller reset     1020px Wide width Full width Reset   * *

Gildor's Forums

Homepage Facebook Read news on Twitter Youtube channel Github page
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

« previous next »
Print
Author Topic: GUI for UE Viewer/extractor ... creating new dlc  (Read 12742 times)
warrantyvoider

View Profile
« on: March 11, 2012, 00:57 »

Hi there,
I'm new to all this Unreal Engine stuff, but as I'm very upset about ME3 ending I thought I'll try to make my own DLC for it with an acceptable ending. Your tool is just what came in handy to explore all the content, so I wrote a little GUI frontend for it so I can extract multiple files at once. I hope you don't mind. But what I noticed it doesn't allow to repack the stuff into a pcc file, so maybe you can enlighten me on that. I'm a obviously a programmer and not new to game programming. I am looking for dokumentation about this. Are these package files custom to every game or is there any standart or so(headers, descriptors etc.)? How did you managed to read and extract stuff in the first place? Did you disassembled the loader of it in the ME3.exe? I guess not. I'm willing to try everything, but I think you are the best one to ask IF this ever can be done. I guess DLCs are just copy and paste installers? dunno yet, maybe you can halp a bit out there, thanks in advance

Warranty Voider

PS:if you want to check back on the project its centered here: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Creating-new-end-for-Mass-Effect-3/145902408865659
Gildor
Administrator

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2012, 08:11 »

But what I noticed it doesn't allow to repack the stuff into a pcc file, so maybe you can enlighten me on that.
I'm thinking about "repacking" as about impossible (or at least extremely complex) task.
I am looking for dokumentation about this.