Gildor's Forums

Author Topic: L2 maps openable?  (Read 20103 times)
LauQ
Guest
L2 maps openable?
« on: January 21, 2010, 02:01 »

Dear Gildor,

Is it possible to make the Lineage 2 maps (.unr) readable with Unreal Editor? I tried it once (after decrypting) but it said something about 'Serial missize. Expected xxx, found xxx'. I bet many people have tried of course, but in the knowledge that you also made it possible to make animations/.ukx files, I thought you might have some knowledge of it, or perhaps look into it sometime.

Thanks in advance,

LauQ
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7436



View Profile WWW
Re: L2 maps openable?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2010, 02:56 »

Hello.
Usually Unreal-based games are incompatible in resource formats, especially maps.
Lineage 2 has heavily modified engine, so it is incompatible with any other UE2 game. Package encryption is a smallest modification made by NCsoft programmers.
Logged
pixellegolas
Sponsor
Sr. Member
*
Posts: 402


View Profile
Re: L2 maps openable?
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2010, 14:40 »

it is quite and interesting discussion. I also wish to have complete maps but I understand its totally far away from umodel purpose.

Right now I am using 3d ripper to capture partly a whole map

Someone also posted a map viewer for unreal tournament maps but it was quite buggy and export not so good. Its open source so can probably be modded but not by me Smiley
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7436



View Profile WWW
Re: L2 maps openable?
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2010, 14:44 »

I have posted a link to "ushock" UE1/2 level viewer some time ago. Of course, it is not compatible with Lineage Smiley
It is a bit buggy because this is unfinished project. Nobody continued its development (most probably that nobody can do it)
Logged
pixellegolas
Sponsor
Sr. Member
*
Posts: 402


View Profile
Re: L2 maps openable?
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2010, 16:07 »

yeah that is a bit shame, would be very cool a tool to stuff that I want Smiley But the old 3d ripper method works quite fine.

Logged
Navicat
Guest
Re: L2 maps openable?
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2010, 15:52 »

I tried modify Ushock files in C++ by simply replace some scripts that i have exported from lineage system files with WOTgreal Exporter...
I always got errors...I am not very experienced on programming also.
I think that this is the key to make compatible Ushock with lineage maps!
We just need to find the key scripts for render maps of Lineage...if we do that i think that it would be easy to add an export option to Ushock because it is open source..
It would be great get this files on UnrealED!!
3DRipper Works fine..but when i open the ripped files with 3DS Max the meshes looks like "deformed" not broken...like using a fish view effect if you understand what i am saying..I think this is caused of lineage render parametrs like field of view etc.
This is the main problem using 3DRipper,Meshes are not orthological

Thnx in advance...
Gildor you are making amazing Job you are the best..
Gratz from Greece!!
« Last Edit: February 15, 2010, 16:05 by Navicat » Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7436



View Profile WWW
Re: L2 maps openable?
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2010, 16:02 »

I tried modify Ushock files in C++ by simply replace some scripts that i have exported from lineage system files with WOTgreal Exporter...
I always got errors...I am not very experienced on programming also.
I think that this is the key to make compatible Ushock with lineage maps!
We just need to find the key scripts for render maps of Lineage...
Ushock does not contains scripts.
Also, uc scripts does not contains level format - because levels are not tuned in UnrealEd.
Quote
if we do that i think that it would be easy to add an export option to Ushock because it is open source..
It is relatively easy to add export option to export map into some modeling software. But it is not possible to export level so it will be openable in UnrealEd.

Quote
Gildor you are making amazing Job you are the best..
Gratz from Greece!!
Thank you Smiley
Logged
Navicat
Guest
Re: L2 maps openable?
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2010, 16:58 »

Thnx for ultra fast answering..!!  Grin
Take a look here..http://aden.rarus.us/index.php?do=cat&category=tools
Someone managed to open them someway but i haven't any further information..
It is a tool to make Maps for a Bot named L2walker...
It can render the map with out textures but only meshes Smiley
I think there is a hope....

Hmmm i tried to reverse engineer Tongue
It is writen in Delphi...
I am not  very experienced as i said Sad
« Last Edit: February 15, 2010, 17:06 by Navicat » Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7436



View Profile WWW
Re: L2 maps openable?
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2010, 18:25 »

I've looked at screenshot.
It looks like this tool seeks for heightmap and renders it as a set of points. Heightmap in UE2 is stored as 16-bit texture.
It is not required to understand internals of level format to extract heightmap.

This tool is not a map viewer.
Logged
Navicat
Guest
Re: L2 maps openable?
« Reply #9 on: February 16, 2010, 12:55 »

At least thnx again..!!
I ll find a way to get a map in my 3d studio Tongue
Logged
hawkins
Guest
Re: L2 maps openable?
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2010, 14:50 »

how to use 3d ripper dx in line age 2?
line age 2 use nprotect game guard, it doesn't allow third party software like 3d ripper runing in the background.


Logged
pixellegolas
Sponsor
Sr. Member
*
Posts: 402


View Profile
Re: L2 maps openable?
« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2010, 20:16 »

dude you should ask that in the 3d ripper forum not in the umodel forum
Logged
freeway
Newbie
*
Posts: 13


View Profile
Re: L2 maps openable?
« Reply #12 on: February 28, 2011, 13:16 »

At least thnx again..!!
I ll find a way to get a map in my 3d studio Tongue

oh,How did you do it?Can  you tell me?THX!
Logged
pixellegolas
Sponsor
Sr. Member
*
Posts: 402


View Profile
Re: L2 maps openable?
« Reply #13 on: February 28, 2011, 15:44 »

It doesnt say that he did it, he says he will find a way. But there is already a way with 3d ripper like i said before Smiley
Logged
freeway
Newbie
*
Posts: 13


View Profile
Re: L2 maps openable?
« Reply #14 on: March 04, 2011, 15:08 »

en,I know,I have ripped some scnce.It's good idea.Thank you!
Logged
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Leviathan design by Bloc | XHTML | CSS