Gildor's Forums

English Forum => News => Topic started by: Gildor on February 18, 2012, 14:55



Title: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on February 18, 2012, 14:55
As you probably know, EpicGames has discontinued ActorX support in favor for more advanced FBX format. ActorX plugins are still available in UDK distributions, but Epic is no longer building it for newer version of Max and Maya. However ActorX is still popular not just in Unreal Engine community, but even between Unreal engine licensees for some reasons.

Important note from 29-Mar-2016

Recently I've asked Epic Games for permission to publish ActorX plugin with source code, and the company decided to license plugin source to me under terms of BSD license, with possibility to distribute sources and binaries without changing the license.


Downloads:

Binaries: ActorX_All.zip

Source code: GitHub (https://github.com/gildor2/ActorX).


Changes:

20.01.2019
- added Maya 2019 version

20.05.2018
- added Max 2018, Max 2019 and Maya 2018 versions

27.02.2017
- added Maya 2017 version

26.07.2016
- added Max 2017 version
- rebuilt everything with Visual Studio 2013

06.11.2015
- added Max 2016 and Maya 2016 versions

23.04.2014
- added Maya 2015 version

04.04.2014
- added Max 2015 version

26.09.2013
- fixed bugs in ActorX Animation Manager window for Max2013+ version of plugin
- added some error messages, plugin is a bit more user friendly when having errors
- changed version to 2.50

30.08.2013
- added Maya and 3dsMax 2014 plugins
- added Maya 2012 and 2013 32-bit plugins
- rebuilt all plugins to exclude dependency from Microsoft's CRT


License:

Copyright 2017, Epic Games, Inc.
All rights reserved.

Redistribution and use in source and binary forms, with or without
modification, are permitted provided that the following conditions are met:

* Redistributions of source code must retain the above copyright notice,
  this list of conditions and the following disclaimer.

* Redistributions in binary form must reproduce the above copyright notice,
  this list of conditions and the following disclaimer in the documentation
  and/or other materials provided with the distribution.

* Neither the name of the copyright holder nor the names of its contributors
  may be used to endorse or promote products derived from this software
  without specific prior written permission.

THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED BY THE COPYRIGHT HOLDERS AND CONTRIBUTORS "AS IS" AND
ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTIES, INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, THE IMPLIED
WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE ARE
DISCLAIMED. IN NO EVENT SHALL THE COPYRIGHT HOLDER OR CONTRIBUTORS BE LIABLE
FOR ANY DIRECT, INDIRECT, INCIDENTAL, SPECIAL, EXEMPLARY, OR CONSEQUENTIAL
DAMAGES (INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, PROCUREMENT OF SUBSTITUTE GOODS OR
SERVICES; LOSS OF USE, DATA, OR PROFITS; OR BUSINESS INTERRUPTION) HOWEVER
CAUSED AND ON ANY THEORY OF LIABILITY, WHETHER IN CONTRACT, STRICT LIABILITY,
OR TORT (INCLUDING NEGLIGENCE OR OTHERWISE) ARISING IN ANY WAY OUT OF THE USE
OF THIS SOFTWARE, EVEN IF ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGE.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on June 03, 2012, 14:43
I've added Max2013 support. There was a lot of changes made to the code (because Max SDK was switched from ANSI API to unicode starting with Max2013) so some testing is required. Both 32 and 64 bit versions available.

Also I've compiled Maya2012 and Maya2013 versions of ActorX. Unfortunately I've got x64 SDK only so 32-bit versions are not available at the moment. If somebody have Maya2012/2013 (32-bit) installed it would be great if you will provide me SDK from them - I'll need "include" and "lib" directories from Maya installation.

Feel free to post results about functionality of ActorX plugin in these programs.
P.S. The download link is in the first post in this thread.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Evan on November 08, 2012, 05:44
G'day there Gildor

I am an aspiring game developer on UDK and have great interest in your actorx exporter plugin for 3DSmax to export custom weapons into udk. Having not done a lot of 3DS before i find myself with your file but no idea where to put it or how to use it. Any help in this regard would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Evan


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on November 08, 2012, 10:52
Hi.
I'd suggest you to read these pages:
http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/ActorX.html
http://udn.epicgames.com/Two/ActorXMaxTutorial.html

In short - to install .dle file you have to copy appropriate file to your "Program Files/Autodesk/Autodesk Max [version]/plugins" directory.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: lutherbrian on April 22, 2013, 19:42
Hi is there any chance you could compile a version for Maya 2013 on Mac OS. Im having a terrible time trying to export .ase files from my Mac and i cant install any 3D software on my PC, i have tried these versions but they are locked for a windows machine. I would really appreciate it if you were able to do it.

Thanks

Brian


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on April 22, 2013, 19:54
Hi. Sorry, I think Epic has no MacOS support for their plugins. Perhaps porting Maya's exporter to Mac is possible, but for me this will require
1. Mac-compatible PC
2. a lot of time

If someone will provide me (1) for free that will be quite realistic task :) (that's a joke, of course ...)


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: EverNewJoy on August 28, 2013, 05:12
Dear Gildor and Community,

Here is my 7+ min video tutorial on using Gildor's awesome updated verson of Epic Game's ActorX plugin for max

http://forums.epicgames.com/threads/972300-VIDEO-How-To-Import-Multiple-Animations-in-One-Timeline-Choose-Frame-Range-3ds-Max


Thank you Gildor!


Enjoy!

Rama


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: steber on August 29, 2013, 07:38
Hi there,

This is a great resource! Thank you very much for keeping this plugin alive. However, I noticed it doesn't work for Maya 2014. Any chance for an updated version? Or just pointers as to what needs to be done; I'm not very programmer-savvy myself but if I can explain the problem, I've got someone who can probably figure out the rest.

Cheers!


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on August 29, 2013, 11:27
I'll need Maya 2014 SDK (both 32 and 64 bit, if available).
...
If somebody have Maya2012/2013 (32-bit) installed it would be great if you will provide me SDK from them - I'll need "include" and "lib" directories from Maya installation.
...


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: steber on August 29, 2013, 12:56
Aha, of course! I seem to have only installed the 64-bit version, do let me know if you'd like 32-bit versions of 2012/2013/2014 - I can arrange that without too much difficulty.

Here is a .zip where I extracted those two folders. Do let me know if you need anything else! And thank you very much!

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14467358/Maya2014%20%2864%29.zip (https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14467358/Maya2014%20%2864%29.zip)


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on August 29, 2013, 13:11
Thank you, but you accidentally placed "bin" instead of "include" into archive. Could you upload "include" as well, please?
... do let me know if you'd like 32-bit versions of 2012/2013/2014 - I can arrange that without too much difficulty.
That'd be nice :)


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: steber on August 29, 2013, 13:30
Woops! Silly me. Here, https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14467358/lib.zip (https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14467358/lib.zip)

I'll get the 32-bits later - tonight I should have time.

Thank you so much, again!


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on August 29, 2013, 13:43
Thank you.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on August 29, 2013, 16:30
I've uploaded new zip with Maya2014/64 support. Please try it.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: steber on August 29, 2013, 18:37
Hmm. I can load it now, and run the "axmain" command without errors. But nothing actually happens - no pop-up appears. I enabled echo all commands in Maya script editor, this is what it says:

Quote
axmain;
//  command AxMain executed.
 //
string $currentRendererName = currentRenderer(); renderer -query -rendererUIName $currentRendererName;
// Maya Software //
toolButton -q -ann $gNonSacredToolWidget;
string $currentRendererName = currentRenderer(); renderer -query -rendererUIName $currentRendererName;
// Maya Software //
toolButton -q -ann $gNonSacredToolWidget;
string $currentRendererName = currentRenderer(); renderer -query -rendererUIName $currentRendererName;
// Maya Software //
toolButton -q -ann $gNonSacredToolWidget;
string $currentRendererName = currentRenderer(); renderer -query -rendererUIName $currentRendererName;
// Maya Software //
toolButton -q -ann $gNonSacredToolWidget;
string $currentRendererName = currentRenderer(); renderer -query -rendererUIName $currentRendererName;
// Maya Software //
toolButton -q -ann $gNonSacredToolWidget;
string $currentRendererName = currentRenderer(); renderer -query -rendererUIName $currentRendererName;
// Maya Software //
toolButton -q -ann $gNonSacredToolWidget;
string $currentRendererName = currentRenderer(); renderer -query -rendererUIName $currentRendererName;
// Maya Software //
toolButton -q -ann $gNonSacredToolWidget;
string $currentRendererName = currentRenderer(); renderer -query -rendererUIName $currentRendererName;
// Maya Software //
toolButton -q -ann $gNonSacredToolWidget;
string $currentRendererName = currentRenderer(); renderer -query -rendererUIName $currentRendererName;
// Maya Software //
toolButton -q -ann $gNonSacredToolWidget;
moduleDetectionLogic;
loadModule -scan;

It then keeps doing the toolButton -q thing over and over again.

The first lines, that is,
Quote
axmain;
//  command AxMain executed.
 //
is all that appears without the echo command on.


Any advise?


Edit: perhaps it's nothing, but weird. When I type "axmain", it says "AxMain" is executed. When I type "AxMain"...
Quote
AxMain;
// Error: line 1: Cannot find procedure "AxMain". //


Edit#2: also, I'm sorry. I thought I would be able to get you the 32-bit versions easily, turns out we don't have them any more. I will keep an eye out, though.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on August 29, 2013, 20:22
Sorry for that. I changed build system used for ActorX for easier adding new SDKs and forgot to add one file into compilation. Please try again.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on August 30, 2013, 15:49
Max 2014 plugin was added.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on August 30, 2013, 22:07
Added remaining builds - 32-bit versions of Maya 2012 and 2013.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: steber on August 31, 2013, 18:59
Oh, I missed your replies. That is wonderful! I will test it first thing tomorrow.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: EverNewJoy on September 05, 2013, 09:15
I really must thank you again Gildor!

My entire development cycle for my game for doing animations as well as all the coding, was dependent on my main asset which I obtained from an artist where all 2200+ animation frames were in a single FBX.

I've need to modify and re-export them, as well as export them in the first place.

and only, and I do mean *only* your plugin and hard work made this possible


so thaaaank you ♥

Rama

PS: here's a video, all the fluid animations you see only got in-game cause of you Gildor

http://forums.epicgames.com/threads/972748-VIDEO-CODE-UPK-ASSET-Attach-Ribbon-Particle-Trails-to-Your-SkeletalMesh-Sword


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on September 05, 2013, 09:18
:)


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on September 26, 2013, 02:16
New version is out.
  • fixed bugs in ActorX Animation Manager window for Max2013+ version of plugin
  • added some error messages, plugin is a bit more user friendly when having errors
  • changed version to 2.50


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on April 05, 2014, 18:45
Added Max 2015 version. Enjoy!
(Note: this version wasn't tested yet)


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on April 23, 2014, 22:02
Added Maya 2015 version.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Baoulettes on September 17, 2014, 18:01
Just to confirm cause no one did.
your Actor X for 3D Studio Max 2015 64x work fine and really thanks a lot !

Here a little screen to proove it :
(http://baoulettesgalerie.site11.com/gallery/Baoullery/Shot00004.jpg)

(The white part is only a not linked texture I did it fast to try you plugin and it work really fine :))

Lineage II C3
3DS Max 2015 64x
UT2004
Windows 8.1 64x :)


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on September 17, 2014, 18:12
Thanks! :)


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Duke on July 26, 2015, 20:46
Thanks for ActorX exporter!

Will there be re-compile for Maya/Max 2016 soon?


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on July 26, 2015, 20:49
Sure. I didn't know that Max 2016 is out.
I just need new Max SDK for that.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: AnaTheTurian on September 12, 2015, 13:00
Hello!

Apologies if this is an easily resolved problem, i am entirely new to this. So im using 3DS Max 2012 and im trying to use the ActorX Exporter however it doesnt initialize and im not sure why, any ideas?

(http://i.imgur.com/KgkKj2h.jpg)


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on September 12, 2015, 13:11
Hello. I think you've put 64-bit version of plugin for 32-bit Max, or vice versa.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: AnaTheTurian on September 12, 2015, 13:28
Well im running the 64bit version of 3DS, is your plugin only 32bit? The file i downloaded is the one from your first post
(Im not sure why the error is even mentioning anything about 32bit...)


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on September 12, 2015, 13:30
Zip file contains both 32 and 64 bit versions for Max 2012.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: AnaTheTurian on September 12, 2015, 13:45
Well I dont know HOW but when i was opening your zip file? All i was getting was a ActorX.dlu file, no folders or other files...I redownload it and viola! All working now, hooray! :)



Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on November 06, 2015, 14:38
Added versions for Max 2016 and Maya 2016.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: sorwah on January 11, 2016, 15:37
Hi Gildor,

I'm getting "Unrecognized file type" when attempting to load a PSK file into Maya 2016. I may have installed the plug-in incorrectly, or attempting to import the file incorrectly. Any help in direction on steps or tutorial will be helpful.

I modified my maya.env to point to the location I put the plug-in. Maya 2016 recognizes the ActorX.mll in the Plug-in Manager, and it's checked to Loaded and Auto Load. Says it's using Plug-in version 2.50 and For API version: 201607.

Thanks for supporting such a plug-in!


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on January 11, 2016, 15:45
Hi.
This is EXPORTER, i.e. with this plugin you can EXPORT data from Max or Maya to PSK format. It doesn't add capability to IMPORT (i.e. load) file into the application.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: sorwah on January 11, 2016, 16:08
Haha, thanks Gildor. I've been up too late. I must have missed that. Sorry for the inconvenience!


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on March 29, 2016, 20:33
With permission from Epic Games, I've released source code of ActorX plugins under terms of BSD license. See the updated first post (/smf/index.php/topic,1221.msg9721.html#msg9721) for more details.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on July 26, 2016, 16:31
Added Max2017 support.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Mitr on January 03, 2017, 19:17
Hi Gildor!
So there is no support for import psa\psk in maya 2016. And I need to use 2014 or lower instead? Thx


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on January 03, 2017, 19:20
Hi.
This thread is about EXPORTER. For import purposes, I wrote ActorX Importer script for 3ds Max. Other modeling software is unsupported by me.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on February 27, 2017, 20:25
Added version for Maya 2017


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on May 20, 2018, 15:58
Added versions for Max 2018, Max 2019 and Maya 2018.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: koechophe on June 18, 2018, 21:59
Hey Gildor, thanks for producing such awesome tools! I'm not sure if I'm just too much of a 3ds max newb to get this, but I'm having a problem with the installation. I'm running your other script to import a .psk, and it works just fine. I'm using 3ds max 2016 64 bit on a student liscence. The install of the plugin via plugin manager seems to go okay, but there's no option under the "export" tab for .psk even with the plugin loaded, and when I try to export with a .psk extension it reads "don't know how to save to that type". Is there a different export process I need to go through, or another file I need to load? If that fails, is there any way to turn the source code into a script that can be ran instead?

Ty for any/all help


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on June 18, 2018, 22:02
Hi,
Yes, it is different. Check this page - it is common for Max and Maya plugins
https://api.unrealengine.com/udk/Two/ActorX.html

and it has links to separate tutorial pages.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Achis on January 19, 2019, 23:06
can you update ActorX for Maya2019? thx.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on January 19, 2019, 23:21
Give me its SDK, and I'll do.


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Achis on January 19, 2019, 23:52
https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/autodesk-adn-transfer/ADN+Extranet/M%26E/Maya/devkit+2019/Autodesk_Maya_2019_DEVKIT_Windows.zip


Title: Re: EpicGames ActorX Exporter for 3ds Max and Maya 2012+
Post by: Gildor on January 20, 2019, 01:35
Thanks.

Added version for Maya 2019.