April 21, 2018, 15:42
bigger smaller reset 800px Wide width Full width Reset * *

Gildor's Forums

  Homepage Facebook Donate
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?


Login with username, password and session length
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Gears of War 4  (Read 1550 times)
esr911
Silver Sponsor
Sr. Member
**
Posts: 255


View Profile
« on: December 19, 2016, 20:22 »

In working with Gildor with GOW4 I have managed to decrypt all files coming from Microsoft store.
I'm in the process now of decrypting the executable so Gildor can do his magic.

For those who want to learn how to decrypt the GOW4 files watch this video and download the files.
it works fine for me. be mindful though, you're going to need a lot of space. GOW4 sits at 91G, so
when you decrypt the files you're looking at atleast 182G of space.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oQUI5IUcWhQ&t=1s

Good luck and keep your fingers crossed that Gildor has enough time to work on this.

esr911
« Last Edit: March 21, 2018, 20:12 by Gildor » Logged
Doomava
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2017, 07:34 »

Praise! Checking this daily.. any updates?
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 6429



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2017, 08:27 »

Nope. I need a decrypted game's executable to continue work. esr911 tried to dump executable file a couple of times, however every time is has some important information lost, making the whole file absolutely useless.

I've asked esr911 to create this thread to not forget information which we (he) are already have - if one day I'll return to this game.
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 6429



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2018, 20:50 »

Thanks to m0fx from Russian thread, I've got game files and dumped game executable. I've spent a few days working on this game, and now umodel can load Gears of War 4 textures. Nothing else is supported.

Why "a few days"? Because
1) Gears 4 has custom pak file format, with custom (lz4) compression
2) Assets are bundled into fewer files, so umodel reads bundle database and provides full file list to user. Bundles are "transparent", so user even wouldn't know that files are stitched together.

Now I need a few days of rest, most likely I won't work on GOW4 in nearest future - I've wasted a few working days (huge impact on my salary), so I need to compensate working time.

Important notes:
1. prefer to not extracting game pak files, provide to umodel path to pak files.
2. game should be set to "Gears of War 4" (may use command line -game=gears4)
3. umodel will look for BundleManifest.bin file and will crash (with meaningful error message) if it won't be found.

Please don't ask here about the following
1. Where to get the game files.
2. Upload any game files to this forum.
3. "Please support ... (something) ..., I need these assets ASAP".
4. Reporting any errors caused by incorrect use of umodel (not following "red" instructions above).
Logged
pixellegolas
Sponsor
Sr. Member
*
Posts: 400


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2018, 21:07 »

Just a thought. Did you not make umodel public? I thought you would have an army of coders under you now that obey every command you give them? Smiley
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 6429



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2018, 21:17 »

Haha, yes and no. Yes - it's public. No - people are not doing anything significant for umodel. When someone probably uses umodel to learn Unreal code, they are posting own tools with no contributions (and even no credits back to umodel) to other forums, as entirely own development. Probably they afraid that I'll get some credits instead of them Smiley
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 6429



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2018, 15:00 »

The game is fully supported now.
Logged
Blenux
Full Member
***
Posts: 114


Computer/Gamer Nerd


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2018, 15:31 »

Awesome news Cheesy, to work again! (Needs to get another SSD/HDD for that game though lol)
Logged

Discord PM: - on request - Removed due to random inboxes for Fortnite AES Key.
Tola
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2018, 16:45 »

Quote
Important notes:
1. prefer to not extracting game pak files, provide to umodel path to pak files.
2. game should be set to "Gears of War 4" (may use command line -game=gears4)
3. umodel will look for BundleManifest.bin file and will crash (with meaningful error message) if it won't be found.

1:Okay
2:Okay
3:BundleManifest.bin under "E:\WindowsApps\Microsoft.SpartaUWP_12.1.0.2_x64__8wekyb3d8bbwe\GearGame" ?


Error:
Quote
Unable to open file E:\WindowsApps\Microsoft.SpartaUWP_12.1.0.2_x64__8wekyb3d8bbwe\GearGame/Content/Paks/de-DE/WwiseAudioCulture_GUDS.pak
FFileArchive::OpenFile <- FFileReader::FFileReader:E:\WindowsApps\Microsoft.SpartaUWP_12.1.0.2_x64__8wekyb3d8bbwe\GearGame/Content/Paks/de-DE/WwiseAudioCulture_GUDS.pak <- MountVFS <- appRegisterGameFile:E:\WindowsApps\Microsoft.SpartaUWP_12.1.0.2_x64__8wekyb3d8bbwe\GearGame/Content/Paks/de-DE/WwiseAudioCulture_GUDS.pak <- ScanGameDirectory <- ScanGameDirectory <- ScanGameDirectory <- ScanGameDirectory <- appSetRootDirectory:dir=E:\WindowsApps\Microsoft.SpartaUWP_12.1.0.2_x64__8wekyb3d8bbwe\GearGame <- Main:umodel_build=693


where is my mistake?
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 6429



View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2018, 17:24 »

I've got "clean" game files. Probably files you're looking at are protected. No idea. That should be commented by someone who knows how to get files from Windows installation.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Leviathan design by Bloc | XHTML | CSS