Gildor's Forums

Author Topic: Battlefleet Gothic - Armada 2  (Read 744 times)
venturion
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 76


View Profile
Battlefleet Gothic - Armada 2
« on: January 29, 2019, 09:02 »

https://store.steampowered.com/app/573100/Battlefleet_Gothic_Armada_2/

4.18 Override

Everything works





Logged
kingfisher13
Newbie
*
Posts: 20


View Profile
Re: Battlefleet Gothic - Armada 2
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2020, 09:02 »

I'm having issues with BFG 2 Cubemaps not exporting correctly. I found the cube maps for the environments in the files, and they display beautifully in Umodel, but they export as empty transparent PNGs instead of proper cube sections.

I'm including examples of some of the cubemaps, and also the resulting exported PNGs.

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1_tdJ7ydnWQJEUShNt5ZwaPe69b3ZKsMQ?usp=sharing
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7817



View Profile WWW
Re: Battlefleet Gothic - Armada 2
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2020, 10:03 »

You should remove the alpha channel from exported PNG somehow. I didn't success with that using Parint.NET (I'm not a "pro" with this tool) - the picture remains white. Exporting a TGA solved the problem.
I've made some fix for dropping alpha channel when it's entirely transparent (like in this particular case), however I can't submit the umodel.exe right now, because I'm in heavy development stage now, and other things might be broken.
Logged
g3stapo
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
Re: Battlefleet Gothic - Armada 2
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2020, 20:43 »

You should remove the alpha channel from exported PNG somehow. I didn't success with that using Parint.NET (I'm not a "pro" with this tool) - the picture remains white. Exporting a TGA solved the problem.
I've made some fix for dropping alpha channel when it's entirely transparent (like in this particular case), however I can't submit the umodel.exe right now, because I'm in heavy development stage now, and other things might be broken.
Gildor, watch Oceanhorn 2
Logged
kingfisher13
Newbie
*
Posts: 20


View Profile
Re: Battlefleet Gothic - Armada 2
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2020, 01:30 »

Thanks Gildor, I figured it out! If you go into GIMP and colorize the alpha channel white, then resave the TGA, the image is restored. However, I don't know what configuration your cubemap exporter saves the various sections in. Do you have a map of which image, 0-5, goes where on the cubemap layout?

EDIT:

I'm guessing the layout would be like this, based on an image I found online:


corresponding to this:


EDIT 2:

This is NOT the formula your tool uses, the resulting combination did not match up.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2020, 01:39 by kingfisher13 » Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7817



View Profile WWW
Re: Battlefleet Gothic - Armada 2
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2020, 09:54 »

It uses standard defined in 3D graphics (D3D, OpenGL):
0 = POSITIVE_X
1 = NEGATIVE_X
2 = POSITIVE_Y
3 = NEGATIVE_Y
4 = POSITIVE_Z
5 = NEGATIVE_Z
Logged
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Leviathan design by Bloc | XHTML | CSS