Gildor's Forums

Author Topic: Extract to make STL file  (Read 7126 times)
Trapper_920
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile
Extract to make STL file
« on: March 11, 2012, 19:37 »

I was trying to follow a PDF to extract items from ME2 but it keeps erroring and I don't know enough about this to know whats going on.

The instructions were:

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cts=1331479771640&ved=0CCYQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.foundation3d.com%2Fforums%2Fattachment.php%3Fattachmentid%3D36627%26d%3D1266510164&ei=18RcT7SwNcmugQemsZCiCw&usg=AFQjCNEWtlg_0OXTUbwSGS0jKypI50AQLw

I only want to try and pull things like characters including Shepard and maybe some other items out and bring it into a program like 3DS Max to create a .stl file.

I'd paste the message from the cmd but I don't know how to copy it. In short it says something about too many unknown files - bad root directory?

Thanks for your help.
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7926



View Profile WWW
Re: Extract to make STL file
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2012, 19:58 »

http://www.gildor.org/en/projects/umodel/tutorials
Logged
pixellegolas
Sponsor
Sr. Member
*
Posts: 358


View Profile
Re: Extract to make STL file
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2012, 19:59 »

I am guessing you have umodel in some strange place. Try placing umodel in the same directory and then write like this:

umodel -export -all package.ppc or whatever tha package is called. The words I saw in tutorial looked strange.

Why stl? Is it for 3d printning? Smiley
Logged
Trapper_920
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile
Re: Extract to make STL file
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2012, 20:09 »

I am guessing you have umodel in some strange place. Try placing umodel in the same directory and then write like this:

umodel -export -all package.ppc or whatever tha package is called. The words I saw in tutorial looked strange.

Why stl? Is it for 3d printning? Smiley

Yea its for 3D printing.

Edit: I copied the cookedPC file to my desktop and what was in the zip was extracted to the folder. Maybe I missed something? Its only 2 files and a read me right?
« Last Edit: March 11, 2012, 20:14 by Trapper_920 » Logged
Trapper_920
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile
Re: Extract to make STL file
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2012, 20:11 »


I don't know how to follow this tutorial because that window that's open I can't find how to lunch it.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2012, 20:15 by Trapper_920 » Logged
pixellegolas
Sponsor
Sr. Member
*
Posts: 358


View Profile
Re: Extract to make STL file
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2012, 20:26 »

Don't copy anything to desktop. Do like this:

Download umodel zip file. Take all those files in the zip to the "root folder of mass effect". So if you installed it to:

c:\game\mass effect

that is where you place umodel with it's files

Now you create a .bat file as described in the pdf.

Write umodel -export -all package.ppc and it should export the files into folders inside mass effect folder

The placement of umodel is quite important and that you create a .bat file that works. You must make sure that the bat file is not named umodel.bat.txt witch might happen when you do it in notepad and forget to change filename
Logged
Trapper_920
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile
Re: Extract to make STL file
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2012, 08:52 »

I tried that with both ME and ME2 with no luck.

Is the bat file really needed? can't I do the following for example in the cmd?

C:\Program Files (x86)\Mass Effect 2\umodel.exe -export -all BIOG_Female_Player_C_LOC_INT.pcc
« Last Edit: March 13, 2012, 08:55 by Trapper_920 » Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7926



View Profile WWW
Re: Extract to make STL file
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2012, 11:00 »

.bat file is not necessary if you are comfortable enough with command line.
I've noticed that you are trying to extract data directly to the "C:\Program Files" directory. Windows Vista or 7 will not allow you to do that unless you are working under Administrator. Check this:
Where I can find extracted files?
Logged
Trapper_920
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile
Re: Extract to make STL file
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2012, 06:11 »

I get the same message when tried copying the entire install folder to the desktop.
Logged
Trapper_920
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile
Re: Extract to make STL file
« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2012, 06:15 »

Ok... So if I go to this link.

http://www.gildor.org/en/projects/umodel/tutorials

Can anyone tell me what launches that window that is open in the tutorial? Maybe this can help answer some questions.
Logged
Trapper_920
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile
Re: Extract to make STL file
« Reply #10 on: March 15, 2012, 08:53 »

anyone?

[вложение удалено Администратором]
« Last Edit: March 15, 2012, 09:02 by Trapper_920 » Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7926



View Profile WWW
Re: Extract to make STL file
« Reply #11 on: March 15, 2012, 09:09 »

Check the FAQ.
umodel performs recursive scan from "-path" directory, you've specified the directory which has too much non-game files inside ("AppData" etc). Make a separate directory for this without "trash" inside, or better extract files directly from the game installation directory.
« Last Edit: March 15, 2012, 09:12 by gildor » Logged
Trapper_920
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile
Re: Extract to make STL file
« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2012, 04:42 »

Okay, finding that GUI in the FAQ helped a bit.

For now the only other question I have is, does anyone have a tip on how to extract what would be a custom Shepard?
Logged
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Leviathan design by Bloc | XHTML | CSS