Gildor's Forums

Author Topic: Problems with ActorX Importer  (Read 4250 times)
lauwer1000
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
Problems with ActorX Importer
« on: July 24, 2016, 03:26 »

um, every time i try to import a .pskx model it refuses to load it. i get MAXScript error loading file, and then the file path. is there anyway to fix this? and am i just doing it wrong? im using 3ds max 2016 educational license (the free one). I have followed numerous tutorials but can't seen to fix this error.
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7927



View Profile WWW
Problems with ActorX Importer
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2016, 12:20 »

Could you show me the error message?
Logged
lauwer1000
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
Problems with ActorX Importer
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2016, 05:30 »

so i made a video and uploaded the script that it gave me. its in the video description. https://youtu.be/qWBLRYRNAN4
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7927



View Profile WWW
Problems with ActorX Importer
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2016, 12:16 »

I watched the video. Try putting psk files to the directory with shorter name, with no spaces and braces. Ideally, something like "C:\TempForMax" etc.
Logged
lauwer1000
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
Problems with ActorX Importer
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2016, 00:02 »

I tried it, i still got the 'error loading file c:/tempformax/filename.pskx
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7927



View Profile WWW
Problems with ActorX Importer
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2016, 00:09 »

May be file empty?
Please check Max's listener window (F11 key), it should have more information.
Logged
lauwer1000
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
Problems with ActorX Importer
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2016, 00:22 »

"FATAL ERROR: -- Runtime error: array index must be positive number, got: 0"  i have no clue what this means
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7927



View Profile WWW
Problems with ActorX Importer
« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2016, 00:25 »

I think you're opening corrupt psk file. Try to re-export it, probably with recent umodel (if you didn't use one before).
Logged
lauwer1000
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
Problems with ActorX Importer
« Reply #8 on: July 26, 2016, 04:29 »

re-export? i don't know if that will change anything. I have to use a specific python script in addition with umodel to rip the models out of the game
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7927



View Profile WWW
Problems with ActorX Importer
« Reply #9 on: July 26, 2016, 10:43 »

Please read carefully.

1. What's the purpose of the python script? Why not umodel's UI?
2. Where did you get it? Probably you've got umodel somewhere packaged with that script, and it is not the recent one. That's why I asked you for update. It often happens, that people are downloading umodel from some third-party site, getting errors there (like - opening a 2016 year game with 2013 year umodel!) and immediately reporting error to me.
3. What game are you trying to open?
4. Do you have notify.log somewhere near to umodel, or in current directory? If yes, please send it to me.

I'm asking about #2 because it seems umodel was crashed during export, leaving partially exported file. I've fixed this long time ago - now umodel should remove partially exported files not confusing users anymore.
Logged
lauwer1000
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
Problems with ActorX Importer
« Reply #10 on: July 27, 2016, 04:20 »

(for some reason not all link are working right on the post (at least on my end), if you just highlight them and put them in your brows they still work)

1.) the purpose was to rip a games assets, when the game is not supported by umodel.

2.) https://mega.nz/#F!YN5GSB4b!wTahCbbwG8LSMbrCirsVFw (direct link, its in the "tools to rip" folder) video explaining it
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UZrKZVQsby8&list=PLbzqM6v1TP_WETCKwyT_Px5hQmmgg2m-j&index=15

3.) Dirty Bomb, its an unreal 3 game. free on steam.

4.) i have one from the updated umodel, i don't think i have one from the other one (the downloaded script, should be the same error right?) https://mega.nz/#!BMwWwLxS!qN9ZOfXvhuMifbCpFCuttGy-JueZ61U3d-Q4PBvvTQY

p.s. thank you so much for all your help Smiley i appreciate that you would be willing to try to help me with it.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2016, 04:26 by lauwer1000 » Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7927



View Profile WWW
Problems with ActorX Importer
« Reply #11 on: July 27, 2016, 11:51 »

1) Not sure why this python script exists, everything could be done with UI now, with much easier way to run.
2) Awful video quality! They are typing text in console, but it is almost unreadable!
3) I don't think this game is supported, so umodel definitely could crash.
4) I can see from this log, that you have recent umodel. Not sure if the same version is used with python script - the log file contains only 1 error message, and this error happens when you tried to open some SkeletalMesh from UI. I think when you tried to export EVERYTHING from the command line, this error must to be happen again, on the same mesh (and I think on many other meshes too). Please check if you have another notify.log file somewhere near to exported files, or near the python script.

I'd suggest you to file upk file which contains the mesh which you can't open in Max, and either play with that file in umodel (with no scripts, use your hands!) or perhaps send it to me so I could confirm that it is crashed.
Logged
lauwer1000
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
Re: Problems with ActorX Importer
« Reply #12 on: August 10, 2016, 01:47 »

sorry for my delayed response, some personal issues came up and i didn't have time to work with the programs XD so i tried using both umodel and the actor x importer without either working. i dont think the game is supported by umodel. when i tried using umodel it wouldn't even open any files from the game, even ones that did work with the python script. i have links below. thanks again for your help and patience Smiley

here is a video of what i did, i dont think i showed trying to work with the actor x importer but it was still the same errors with no change. the video must be on fullscreen in order to read the text.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BlaF7QWfPYE&feature=youtu.be


i have files uploaded with the notify logs from both the current umodel and from the python script. https://mega.nz/#F!8QZTBAoR!VWk5iTXVNs31_U0pB3SqpQ

these are the ripped files from the python script (the ones with errors) https://mega.nz/#F!sA4gUSTD!wTLxds6-sYaGagq9_e112w

and these are the upk files of the ones i'm having issues with... https://mega.nz/#F!UExRlDrT!qOnJs9uQERLH-Q7kpt8gvw

Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7927



View Profile WWW
Re: Problems with ActorX Importer
« Reply #13 on: August 10, 2016, 11:02 »

Hi.
1) You can use "Tools | Scan content" option to avoid jumping between packages hoping to find anything. This option will show you which packages has meshes, textures etc. When you see a red message on the screen telling that "the package has nothing useful inside" - just skip this package and check something else.
2) Yes, this game is not supported. But I played with UModel's options and found the solution. I'll post it in Dirty Bomb's thread - http://www.gildor.org/smf/index.php/topic,2571.0.html (just to not copy-pasted Smiley)
Logged
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Leviathan design by Bloc | XHTML | CSS