Gildor's Forums

Author Topic: how to use package decompressor?  (Read 15780 times)
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7972



View Profile WWW
Re: how to use package decompressor?
« Reply #15 on: March 29, 2016, 03:09 »

If you're seeing 'decompress is not recognized ..." error, this means that you're starting decompress from a wrong directory.
Put it to C:\1. Then start cmd.exe. Execute command "cd C:\1", your current directory will be changed to that one where "decompress.exe" extracted. Then you may execute "decompress.exe" command, and cmd.exe will find it.

I think alternatively you may open a directory with extracted rar archive in Explorer, then drag and drop upk file to decompress.exe.

Also you may create batch file with this contents:
Code:
decompress.exe %*
pause

then drag and drop upk files to this batch file. Then you'll see console window, and it won't be closed immediately when operation finished or failed.

(I'm going to sleep now, so don't expect new responses soon Smiley)
Logged
xeno_mew2
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
Re: how to use package decompressor?
« Reply #16 on: March 30, 2016, 02:15 »

https://gyazo.com/10015d35c98387e797419eec8006b44e


C:\WINDOWS\system32>decompress.exe
'decompress.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\WINDOWS\system32>pause
Press any key to continue . . .
Logged
xeno_mew2
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
Re: how to use package decompressor?
« Reply #17 on: March 30, 2016, 02:18 »

oh i just moved decompress.exe to system32


C:\WINDOWS\system32>decompress.exe
Unreal Engine package decompressor
Usage: decompress [options] <package filename>

Options:
    -path=PATH      path to game installation directory; if not specified,
                    program will search for packages in current directory
    -game=tag       override game autodetection (see -taglist for variants)
    -out=PATH       extract everything into PATH, default is "unpacked"
    -lzo|lzx|zlib   force compression method for fully-compressed packages
    -log=file       write log to the specified file
    -taglist        list of tags to override game autodetection
    -help           display this help page

Platform selection:
    -ps3            override platform autodetection to PS3

For details and updates please visit http://www.gildor.org/

C:\WINDOWS\system32>pause
Press any key to continue . . .
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7972



View Profile WWW
Re: how to use package decompressor?
« Reply #18 on: March 30, 2016, 02:22 »

I think you didn't follow my instructions about putting decompress.exe to C:\1 (or different directory) and doing "CD" command after that.
Regarding batch file with "%*" inside - you should drag upk file onto it from Windows Explorer, and do not run it from the command line. And this approach should worn without copying files into C:\Windows\System32.

Damn, you're fighting with absolutely basic command line issues!
Logged
xeno_mew2
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
Re: how to use package decompressor?
« Reply #19 on: March 30, 2016, 02:43 »

C:\1>decompress
Unreal Engine package decompressor
Usage: decompress [options] <package filename>

Options:
    -path=PATH      path to game installation directory; if not specified,
                    program will search for packages in current directory
    -game=tag       override game autodetection (see -taglist for variants)
    -out=PATH       extract everything into PATH, default is "unpacked"
    -lzo|lzx|zlib   force compression method for fully-compressed packages
    -log=file       write log to the specified file
    -taglist        list of tags to override game autodetection
    -help           display this help page

Platform selection:
    -ps3            override platform autodetection to PS3

For details and updates please visit http://www.gildor.org/
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7972



View Profile WWW
Re: how to use package decompressor?
« Reply #20 on: March 30, 2016, 02:50 »

Yes, I know this message. It is displayed when nothing was passed to decompress.exe from the command line. If you will drag and drop upk to this batch, a different message should appear.
I've just tried to create batch by myself, and found the following batch more useful:
Code:
cd %~dp0
decompress.exe %*
pause

It allows to decompress upk files which aren't in the same directory as "decompress.exe". Also, "unpacked" directory will be created at the same place where "decompress.exe" exists.
Logged
xeno_mew2
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
Re: how to use package decompressor?
« Reply #21 on: March 30, 2016, 03:11 »


C:\WINDOWS\system32>cd C:\Users\[my real name]~1\AppData\Local\Temp\Rar$DIa0.124\

C:\Users\MICHAE~1\AppData\Local\Temp\Rar$DIa0.124>decompress.exe
Unreal Engine package decompressor
Usage: decompress [options] <package filename>

Options:
    -path=PATH      path to game installation directory; if not specified,
                    program will search for packages in current directory
    -game=tag       override game autodetection (see -taglist for variants)
    -out=PATH       extract everything into PATH, default is "unpacked"
    -lzo|lzx|zlib   force compression method for fully-compressed packages
    -log=file       write log to the specified file
    -taglist        list of tags to override game autodetection
    -help           display this help page

Platform selection:
    -ps3            override platform autodetection to PS3

For details and updates please visit http://www.gildor.org/

C:\Users\[my real name]~1\AppData\Local\Temp\Rar$DIa0.124>pause
Press any key to continue . . .
Logged
xeno_mew2
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
Re: how to use package decompressor?
« Reply #22 on: March 30, 2016, 03:17 »

https://gyazo.com/0a6c40c9c1291cc3d63086c1f7d3bea1
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7972



View Profile WWW
Re: how to use package decompressor?
« Reply #23 on: March 30, 2016, 03:18 »

No idea. You're definitely doing something wrong. If you could record a video probably I could see what exactly.
Logged
xeno_mew2
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
Re: how to use package decompressor?
« Reply #24 on: March 30, 2016, 03:23 »

ok,
also is this supposed to be in here?

C:\1>decompress -taglist
Unreal engine 1:
      ue1  Unreal engine 1
  >> undying  Undying << is this an easteregg or just a coincidence? it just seems so out of place in here

Unreal engine 2:
      ue2  Unreal engine
Logged
xeno_mew2
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
Re: how to use package decompressor?
« Reply #25 on: March 30, 2016, 03:41 »

https://youtu.be/W_Fc4zNexIA
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7972



View Profile WWW
Re: how to use package decompressor?
« Reply #26 on: March 30, 2016, 09:46 »

  >> undying  Undying << is this an easteregg or just a coincidence? it just seems so out of place in here
UModel has support for "Undying" textures. What's wrong?

I watched the video. You didn't do anything I asked you about!

Okay, step-by-step instructions based on your video. You've created a batch file with 'cd' instruction, named it 'bob.bat' and placed into rar file (why??). Extract this batch to C:\1. Extract UC_....upk to the same directory. Now open C:\1 in Explorer, drag EXTRACTED upk file to EXTRACTED bob.bat file. That's all.

UModel (and most of other apps) can't work from inside the archive, and it can't open archived files. You did a nonsense in your video, sorry.
Logged
xeno_mew2
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
Re: how to use package decompressor?
« Reply #27 on: March 31, 2016, 01:01 »

thank you! it worked
Logged
xeno_mew2
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
Re: how to use package decompressor?
« Reply #28 on: March 31, 2016, 01:43 »

now how do i make the exported upk back into a normal .upk file?
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7972



View Profile WWW
Re: how to use package decompressor?
« Reply #29 on: March 31, 2016, 15:07 »

thank you! it worked
Very nice Smiley
now how do i make the exported upk back into a normal .upk file?
No idea what you are asking about. Decompressed file is also upk, and it should work "as is".
Logged
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Leviathan design by Bloc | XHTML | CSS