Gildor's Forums

Author Topic: Trouble Exporting Model for Mass Effect 1  (Read 459 times)
DaveUdemy
Newbie
*
Posts: 9


View Profile
Trouble Exporting Model for Mass Effect 1
« on: March 12, 2019, 16:41 »

Hi,

I'm using Umodel to extract meshes for Mass Effect 1.

This is how I normally do it:

1. Run Umodel
2. Open game path
3. Click Tools > Scan Content once the packages are loaded
4. Select all package files and click Export

For other games I've tried, this would normally extract tons of data resulting to the extraction folder having a bigger size compared to the actual game.

However, this is not the case for Mass Effect 1. The game size is around 9GB but after I do those steps, the extraction folder is just around 239MB.

There are also very few models seen on Umodel tool.

I've read previous threads regarding Mass Effect 2 and 3 (can't find any for Mass Effect 1) and noticed they have the folder named "CookedPCConsole" and some ".pcc" files.

I don't have that in my game folder. I downloaded the game the usual way. Is there anything I've missed?

Any assistance would be appreciated. Thanks!
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7897



View Profile WWW
Re: Trouble Exporting Model for Mass Effect 1
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2019, 16:52 »

Hi.
I have just 4 files from this game, they have extension upk (not pcc). Those files are 52Mb of side together, and after doing export I have 544 files of size 106Mb.
So may be you're doing something wrong. Or may be you're working with non-PC version of the game.
Logged
DaveUdemy
Newbie
*
Posts: 9


View Profile
Re: Trouble Exporting Model for Mass Effect 1
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2019, 17:20 »

Hi,

Thank you for the response.

I downloaded the PC game version from Steam.

I also see .upk files.

Here's the exact list of folders I see after I extract all .upk files from Umodel tool.

BioBaseResources
BIOC_Base
BIOC_Materials
BIOC_VehicleResources
BIOC_WorldResources
BIOG_ASA_ARM_CTH_R
BIOG_ASA_ARM_MRC_R
BIOG_HMM_HED_PROMorph
BIOG_Humanoid_MASTER_MTR_R
BIOG_StrategicAI
BIOG_TUR_HED_EYE_R
BIOG_TUR_HED_PROMorph_R
BIOG_V_C_BloodSS
BIOG_V_C_Gren_Imp_Water_Z
BIOG_V_C_Imp_metal_Z
BIOG_V_C_Imp_wood_Z
BIOG_V_C_Shield
BIOG_V_Env_Hologram_Z
BIOG_V_Foot_Imp_water_Z
BIOG_V_P_Exp_FuelTank_Z
BIOG_V_Veh_Cannon_Imp_Dirt_Z
BIOG_V_Veh_Cannon_Imp_Grass_Z
BIOG_V_Veh_Cannon_Imp_Leaf_Z
BIOG_V_Veh_Cannon_Imp_Moss_Z
BIOG_V_Veh_Cannon_Imp_Plastic_Z
BIOG_V_Veh_Cannon_Imp_Robot_Z
BIOG_V_Veh_Cannon_Imp_Stone_Z
BIOG_V_Veh_Cannon_Imp_Wood_Z
BIOG_V_Z_MESHES_A_Z
BIOG_V_Z_TEXTURES_A_Z
BIOG_VEH_ROV_A
EditorMaterials
EditorMeshes
EditorResources
Engine
Engine_MI_Shaders
EngineFonts
EngineMaterials
EngineResources
EngineScenes
NodeBuddies
Statup_Int

Do you see more on your end?
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7897



View Profile WWW
Re: Trouble Exporting Model for Mass Effect 1
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2019, 17:35 »

As I said you, I have only 4 files, and those are not in your list:
BIOG_HMF_HED_PROMorph_R.upk
BIOG_HMM_HED_PROMorph.upk
BIOG_HMM_HIR_PRO_R.upk
BIOG_Humanoid_MASTER_MTR_R.upk
Logged
DaveUdemy
Newbie
*
Posts: 9


View Profile
Re: Trouble Exporting Model for Mass Effect 1
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2019, 19:04 »

The following are on the list I've pasted:
BIOG_HMM_HED_PROMorph.upk
BIOG_Humanoid_MASTER_MTR_R.upk

But neither of them have Skeletal Meshes or even static mesh. I understand something's not right on my end and I'd really like to know if there are any known workaround for my case.

Thanks again.
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7897



View Profile WWW
Re: Trouble Exporting Model for Mass Effect 1
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2019, 19:19 »

Could you send me those 2 files please?
Logged
DaveUdemy
Newbie
*
Posts: 9


View Profile
Re: Trouble Exporting Model for Mass Effect 1
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2019, 19:29 »

I'd be happy to. Should I just email it to you? Those 2 files together is around 628KB and this messenger doesn't allow me to attach it saying the maximum attachment size is 128KB. I created a Zip file but it's 190KB.
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7897



View Profile WWW
Re: Trouble Exporting Model for Mass Effect 1
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2019, 19:32 »

Not worth sending then, those files are too small to contain something useful. Is game running well? May be it is not correctly downloaded?
Logged
DaveUdemy
Newbie
*
Posts: 9


View Profile
Re: Trouble Exporting Model for Mass Effect 1
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2019, 19:38 »

The download went smoothly. But this PC isn't powerful enough to run the game. Would that matter?
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7897



View Profile WWW
Re: Trouble Exporting Model for Mass Effect 1
« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2019, 19:45 »

Ok. Open the game in umodel. Switch to flat view. Scan content. Get the largest file which has "nothing" inside. Open that file and send me a log - it will show a list of asset types stored inside.
Logged
DaveUdemy
Newbie
*
Posts: 9


View Profile
Re: Trouble Exporting Model for Mass Effect 1
« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2019, 20:49 »

Hey, that worked like a charm!

After switching to "Flat View" I am now able to view a whole lot of stuff. This time it does look like everything is there. I also see the meshes I'm looking for.

Thank you so much Gildor! You saved the day!
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7897



View Profile WWW
Re: Trouble Exporting Model for Mass Effect 1
« Reply #11 on: March 13, 2019, 21:15 »

Glad to help Smiley
So you didn't notice folders on the left.
Logged
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Leviathan design by Bloc | XHTML | CSS