March 28, 2024, 23:43
bigger smaller reset     1020px Wide width Full width Reset   * *

Gildor's Forums

  Homepage Facebook Read news on Twitter Youtube channel Github page
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

« previous next »
Print
Author Topic: Building the code  (Read 10449 times)
FabianFG
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 57


View Profile
« Reply #45 on: January 20, 2019, 17:45 »

I still have an issue with the build and I really dont know how to fix it

Quote
Generating makefile from UmodelTool/umodel.project ...
Gathering dependency info ...
Makefile generated.
Using Visual Studio Community 2017 [32 bit] found at "D:\Fabian\Programme\VisualStudio" ...
CALLING jom makefile-vc-win32
lzo_init.c
uncompr.c
crc32.c
adler32.c
lzo1x_d2.c
Image.cpp
inffast.c
inftrees.c
ColorBlock.cpp
DirectDrawSurface.cpp
inflate.c
lzxd.c
pngerror.c
png.c
pngtrans.c
pngrio.c
pngset.c
pngget.c
lz4.c
pngwio.c
pngrutil.c
bits.cpp
pngmem.c
pngpread.c
pngwrite.c
clamp.cpp
pngread.c
bptc-tables.cpp
dds.cpp
half-float.cpp
convert.cpp
decompress-etc.cpp
decompress-eac.cpp
file-info.cpp
decompress-bptc.cpp
misc.cpp
pngrtran.c
texture.cpp
rijndael.c
pngwutil.c
pngwtran.c
decompress-bptc-float.cpp
astc_percentile_tables.cpp
softfloat.cpp
PVRTDecompress.cpp
astc_integer_sequence.cpp
astc_misc.cpp
astc_partition_tables.cpp
astc_color_unquantize.cpp
astc_block_sizes2.cpp
astc_quantization.cpp
astc_symbolic_physical.cpp
jom: D:\Fabian\Desktop\PakBrowser\Umodel\UModel\makefile-vc-win32 [.\obj\umodel-win32\umodel.res] Error 2
astc_weight_quant_xfer_tables.cpp
astc_decompress_symbolic.cpp
astc_image_load_store.cpp
Build time: 5.5 sec
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7978



View Profile WWW
« Reply #46 on: January 20, 2019, 20:14 »

I have VS2017 installed, however I can't reproduce the problem. I use VS 15.9.3, and I see that 15.9.5 is available. However I can't update it, this will give me some troubles with my work (will need to FULLY rebuild ALL projects which use it). BTW, which VS version (EXACTLY) do you use? May be you have OLDER one?

At the same time, in your log I see only part of information. I see that it is failed to build some ASTC (external library) source file - not the very first time when this library adds problems! If you'd be able to show me full error message for that file, I'd probably be able to check what could be wrong there without having compiler.
Logged
FabianFG
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 57


View Profile
« Reply #47 on: January 20, 2019, 20:36 »

I was able to fix the error by my own. Thanks for your response
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7978



View Profile WWW
« Reply #48 on: January 20, 2019, 20:40 »

What was the problem then?
Logged
FabianFG
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 57


View Profile
« Reply #49 on: January 20, 2019, 20:46 »

The script wasn't able to find the rc.exe so I manually moved it to the build tools folder but I forgot to copy the rcdll.dll and this was needed to run rc.exe
« Last Edit: January 20, 2019, 20:48 by FunGames » Logged
Diran
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #50 on: January 20, 2021, 03:50 »

I don't know much at all about Visual Studio or other general coding, but I got this error when running 'build.sh' with the Win64 Debug config:

Code:
>------ Build started: Project: build, Configuration:  ------
  '"bash.exe"' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
  operable program or batch file.

Build failed.

[EDIT: I got the bash error resolved but I get this now, so I think I have no idea what I'm doing.
Code:
>------ Build started: Project: build, Configuration:  ------
  build.sh: [: ==: binary operator expected
  build.sh: [: ==: binary operator expected
  build.sh: [[: command not found
  build.sh: ${PLATFORM:0:3}: bad substitution
  build.sh: GENMAKE_OPTIONS+= DEBUG=1: command not found
  Generating makefile from UmodelTool/umodel.project ...
  C:\WINDOWS\system32\Make.exe: Nothing to be done for `obj/umodel-vc-win64-debug.mak'.

Build succeeded.
]

I wanted to make a 64-bit version to not get an allocation error like you suggest here and use this guy's code but I don't know where to insert these lines either :/ https://www.gildor.org/smf/index.php?topic=3333.0
« Last Edit: January 20, 2021, 04:21 by Diran » Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7978



View Profile WWW
« Reply #51 on: January 20, 2021, 10:47 »

"Bad allocation size" error means that wrong memory block size is stored in uasset/upk, it doesn't mean that "32 bits it not enough for this".
Logged
Bunneh
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #52 on: February 11, 2021, 07:19 »

Hey
I was playing with the source code of UE Viewer and building it and everything worked perfectly fine
except when I try to open an asset it gives me an
AsynyPackage ... .uasset has unversioned properties, dropping

I don't really know what to do.
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7978



View Profile WWW
« Reply #53 on: February 11, 2021, 10:23 »

The Fortnite-specific stuff is not in git.
Logged
Bunneh
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #54 on: February 11, 2021, 10:59 »

Alright thx.
Logged
pokguy
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #55 on: April 05, 2022, 03:47 »

Sorry for the bother, for some reason I had to rebuild my computer, I now have Windows 11 and Visual Studio 2022, and I have all the Visual C++ versions installs from 2008 forward for both 64/32 bit where applicable, but now when I try to build I get
ERROR: Visual C++ was not found.
I make sure to run set PATH=%PATH%;MyPathTo\BuildTools\bin; like I did prior to rebuilding my computer and it worked fine, any other path I may be missing by accident? Thanks!
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7978



View Profile WWW
« Reply #56 on: April 05, 2022, 11:59 »

Did you install Visual Studio to "standard" location in C:\Program Files?
BuildTools expects that the file exists and is in exact location:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Installer\vswhere.exe"

Actually there are many ways of breaking location of VS, you could verify "CheckVC" function in BuildTools/vc32tools script. It is using vswhere standard tool first, then using "Microsoft.VCToolsVersion.default.txt" text file to get the exact version of compiler, then find this compiler in VC/Tools/MSVC... Then checks for existence of nmake.exe in found path.

As the first step, I'd suggest checking if vswhere works for you. You can use batch files from official examples:
https://github.com/Microsoft/vswhere/wiki/Examples
Logged
pokguy
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #57 on: April 05, 2022, 13:48 »

To my shame, I don't know how to use vc32tools script. But I can confirm that vswhere works properly and "where cl.exe" also works.

I still get the unfortunate error though  Undecided traditionally I don't install anything in default path, it's been the case before when everything was working fine on Windows 10 and Visual Studio 2019, Visual Studio was install on a different drive, not the default system drive c:

Anyways, don't worry about it, it's not like my inability to compile matters Grin. Primarily I was more interested in getting default values from CDOs such as player controller, character class, camera component etc.

Edit: installing VS2017 makes all okay
« Last Edit: August 29, 2023, 04:32 by pokguy » Logged
Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Leviathan design by Bloc | XHTML | CSS