Gildor's Forums

Author Topic: [PS4] Final Fantasy VII Remake  (Read 25344 times)
GDL
Newbie
*
Posts: 36


View Profile
Re: [PS4] Final Fantasy VII Remake
« Reply #150 on: December 21, 2021, 19:21 »

Update: yup, turns out they removed some assets and added a video version of them, they also substituted teen Tifa and teen Cloud from that scene in the wooden water tower with a video and another weird thing is that they added a video version of young Tifa with her 3 friends but they can also be found fully rigged inside the paks, so at this point I don't know if they forgot to remove/hide some assets or if they were just lazy:
Those 2 scenes have always been video files, thats why even on PS1 they load so instantly, no loading screen, not stutter, instantly, because it switches to video files instead of having to load 10 new character models and 1 new large location with several assets.
Weirdly the models for young tifa and cowgirl tifa did exist in the game before, presumably from when they rendered out that scene, which might be why they removed them now, as they were never supposed to be in the release in the first place.

Pretty much all the flashbacks are video files, the same was true for the PS4 version.

That is even weirder, for them to leave those assets in the paks, I know they kinda rushed the development of the game after they took it back from cyber connect 2 but still  tongue
Logged
Guilty
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile
Re: [PS4] Final Fantasy VII Remake
« Reply #151 on: December 22, 2021, 07:34 »

Going back to the regular uModel, has anyone tried to apply motion data to Barret? I'm getting nightmare fuel over here. I've done the same successfully with Cloud, Tifa, and others, but Barret strangely will contort into a monster when I try to apply any motion file. This is F_Serious1.uasset and it is... seriously jacked up. Any thoughts?


* Screenshot 2021-12-21 223405.png (415.78 KB, 1960x1330 - viewed 448 times.)
Logged
squall789
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


View Profile
Re: [PS4] Final Fantasy VII Remake
« Reply #152 on: December 28, 2021, 05:29 »

That is even weirder, for them to leave those assets in the paks, I know they kinda rushed the development of the game after they took it back from cyber connect 2 but still  tongue

Leaving files in the project that aren't used isn't anything to do with rushing, its to do with references.
Unreal will package together anything thats referenced by files that are being loaded, they just forgot to cleanup a few references for like 10 things out of the 1000's of things that exist. Keeping track of references gets more complicated as projects grow, and this is a huge project.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2021, 05:31 by squall789 » Logged
Desertz
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
Re: [PS4] Final Fantasy VII Remake
« Reply #153 on: December 28, 2021, 10:04 »

Hey guys, I try to figure out How FF7RE characters are rendered, so there is any way to export material.uasset from .pak? It seems that umodel can only export texture.
Logged
gamer19771356
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
Re: [PS4] Final Fantasy VII Remake
« Reply #154 on: December 28, 2021, 11:00 »

hello use this
https://www.mediafire.com/file/dptqmbep5hh0trq/final+fantasy+7+remake+ps4++mat+files+for+use+pc+version.rar/file
Logged
Desertz
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
Re: [PS4] Final Fantasy VII Remake
« Reply #155 on: December 28, 2021, 12:09 »

Thank you very much, bro
Logged
TroyMcClure
Newbie
*
Posts: 12



View Profile
Re: [PS4] Final Fantasy VII Remake
« Reply #156 on: December 29, 2021, 13:10 »

Here is specific umodel build for Intergrade (link, updated) - no special override is required, simply choose proper engine version (4.18).
I'm getting some fatal errors trying to extract meshes and textures. First it complained about a missing oo2core_5_win32.dll and after Googling for one of those it now gives a "OodleLZ_Decompress returned 0" error. Do I need a specific version of that DLL? The modified exe is running alongside the latest umodel version.
Logged
spiritovod
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1159


View Profile
Re: [PS4] Final Fantasy VII Remake
« Reply #157 on: December 29, 2021, 17:08 »

@TroyMcClure: Are you by any chance using 32-bit OS? Because this is 64-bit build with built-in oodle library, like in latest official builds, so no external libraries are required (except for SDL2_64.dll for rendering purposes). Otherwise I have no idea why such error could pop-up, unless you're trying to work with PS4 version of Intergrade - it was not tested and no feedback was provided so far for it.
Logged
TroyMcClure
Newbie
*
Posts: 12



View Profile
Re: [PS4] Final Fantasy VII Remake
« Reply #158 on: December 29, 2021, 18:06 »

Are you by any chance using 32-bit OS?
Nope. Win10 and the PC version of FF7.

Edit: Also tried it out on a Win7 x64 VM. Same issue. Missing DLL error, added the DLL and got the "OodleLZ_Decompress returned 0" error.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2021, 18:23 by TroyMcClure » Logged
spiritovod
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1159


View Profile
Re: [PS4] Final Fantasy VII Remake
« Reply #159 on: December 29, 2021, 19:12 »

@TroyMcClure: It looks like an issue with corrupted packages or something then. You can try to open game packages in latest official umodel build from site - if error will be the same (oodle related), it's something with your files. Also you can try to open paks separately by putting them into separate folder one by one - if it will be like that with all of them, feel free to send one of them via PM, I could check it.
Logged
TroyMcClure
Newbie
*
Posts: 12



View Profile
Re: [PS4] Final Fantasy VII Remake
« Reply #160 on: December 30, 2021, 10:08 »

You can try to open game packages in latest official umodel build from site - if error will be the same (oodle related), it's something with your files.
The standard umodel has a fatal error about a wrong index name. Even without oo2core_5_win32.dll present.
Logged
inkiowetrust
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
Re: [PS4] Final Fantasy VII Remake
« Reply #161 on: December 30, 2021, 13:00 »

Not sure why they did what they did, but some things changed notably since base game. Despite the game is still on 4.18 engine in general, it's using unversioned properties (exist in UE 4.25+ branches only) and modified approach to bulk data now. At least, they're still using the same version of ACL compression for animations, so Noesis stuff should be easily fixed for the Intergrade support... probably.

Here is specific umodel build for Intergrade (link, updated) - no special override is required, simply choose proper engine version (4.18). Updated version should work with meshes and textures, still no materials support. Some skeletal meshes may occasionally crash umodel, it will be fixed later. Crashes should be fixed in latest specific build - so before reporting something check if you're using "fix" version of the build.

Update: Specific build is updated to v2, it can handle most meshes now.

Update 2: Specific build is now fixed, all meshes should be loaded properly.

Requires AES key
Logged
spiritovod
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1159


View Profile
Re: [PS4] Final Fantasy VII Remake
« Reply #162 on: December 30, 2021, 15:03 »

@TroyMcClure: Then I have no idea, since I can't reproduce the error. You can try to reproduce it with separate packages, like explained in my previous post, and PM me any of problematic ones.

@inkiowetrust : There is sticked topic for that: https://www.gildor.org/smf/index.php/topic,7304.0.html
Logged
TroyMcClure
Newbie
*
Posts: 12



View Profile
Re: [PS4] Final Fantasy VII Remake
« Reply #163 on: December 30, 2021, 15:22 »

You can try to reproduce it with separate packages, like explained in my previous post
If we take the PAKs out of the equation, by extracting the lot with the QuickBMS UT script then loading up that folder, your modified exe gives the same wrong index name fatal error as the standard umodel.
Logged
spiritovod
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1159


View Profile
Re: [PS4] Final Fantasy VII Remake
« Reply #164 on: December 30, 2021, 17:09 »

@TroyMcClure: You still didn't provide any samples. Considering that there is only one PC version of the game (there were not any updates so far) and it's supported by specific build to a certain extent - and also because nobody else didn't complain about this issue - the chances that it will be fixed are very slim.
Logged
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Leviathan design by Bloc | XHTML | CSS