Gildor's Forums

Author Topic: [Switch] Bravely Default II  (Read 622 times)
spiritovod
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 382


View Profile
[Switch] Bravely Default II
« on: March 27, 2020, 04:26 »

This is the next game in Bravely Default series.
Official site: https://www.jp.square-enix.com/bd2/
Nintendo game page: https://www.nintendo.com/games/detail/bravely-default-ii-switch/
UE4 version: 4.23

All works fine - including meshes, textures and animations - with the latest umodel build (1515 at the moment). Don't forget to use "Switch" in platform settings, otherwise textures will be swizzled.

Update: Full version is also fully compatible with latest umodel (except few custom materials). Though unlike demo, full version is using zstd compression, which is not supported by umodel yet. Use corresponding quickbms script from here (latest_UE4_bms-script) to extract assets.
Update 2: You can also use specific umodel build (download) with zstd compression support to view assets directly from pak without extracting them.


* Clipboard02.jpg (163.57 KB, 2548x1226 - viewed 137 times.)

* Clipboard03.jpg (167.3 KB, 2542x1229 - viewed 122 times.)
« Last Edit: April 12, 2021, 20:07 by spiritovod » Logged
animanXPS
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
Re: Bravely Default 2
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2020, 14:58 »

This game is DEMO. I think it's not good to put ripping information.
Games that do not have a PC port are difficult to get key if they are encrypted...
Logged
spiritovod
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 382


View Profile
Re: Bravely Default II
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2020, 16:40 »

@Gildor: Sorry, I've added some info about the game in the first post.
@animanXPS: I didn't actually see any encrypted UE4 games on consoles. The console itself is already enough protection in most cases.
Logged
spiritovod
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 382


View Profile
Re: [Switch] Bravely Default II
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2021, 21:18 »

First post updated, since full version is already out.

@Gildor: I wonder if this warning [BoolProperty "UAnimSequence4::bForceRootLock" was not found] is typical for some particular animations.
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7925



View Profile WWW
Re: [Switch] Bravely Default II
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2021, 23:24 »

This is not a problem at all, just the property which UModel doesn't know. I've decided to change the text of the warning, probably it will scary people less now. In the next build the message will look like this:
Quote
UAnimSequence4: unknown BoolProperty bForceRootLock
Let me know what you think about that Smiley
Logged
spiritovod
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 382


View Profile
Re: [Switch] Bravely Default II
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2021, 00:36 »

@Gildor: I understand what such warning means in general Smiley I was asking if it belongs to some particular animations (like, additive type or something) or it's just a common property which can be used in any animation. It's kind of helpful when collecting statistics of errors and warnings, in case if similar assets may work in one game and may not in others.
And please don't change current warnings. Almost all users are ignoring them anyway and submit only critical ones, for the rest they would be more noticeable in current form and it's easier to parse them in logs like that.
 
Logged
Grendor
Full Member
***
Posts: 82


View Profile
Re: [Switch] Bravely Default II
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2021, 03:32 »

Tried it, followed instructions using the bms indicated and even narrowed down the folder selection, just always get a fatal error.

Code:
Stack overflow (C00000FD) at umodel.exe+0x12E36
UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceConstant::AppendReferencedTextures <- UMaterialInstanceCo
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7925



View Profile WWW
Re: [Switch] Bravely Default II
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2021, 09:59 »

Are you using recent UModel?
Logged
Grendor
Full Member
***
Posts: 82


View Profile
Re: [Switch] Bravely Default II
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2021, 20:02 »

Yes, the build released on the 26th.
Logged
Gildor
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7925



View Profile WWW
Re: [Switch] Bravely Default II
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2021, 10:42 »

Then - please upload the problematic assets. Use "save packages" for extracting them from the pak file. IMPORTANT: test for the problem on separated data before sending, it is possible that you'll need so send multiple uasset files, e.g. MaterialInstance, parent Material, and referenced textures.

There's a problem with MaterialInstance - possibly there's a reference loop somewhere, so UModel attempts to collect list of used textures from asset's parent, then its parent, then some parent refers to some child asset again, and so on.
Logged
spiritovod
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 382


View Profile
Re: [Switch] Bravely Default II
« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2021, 15:50 »

@Gildor: It's too bothersome to reproduce the error. For example when you're opening Content\Characters\ACC\ACC004\ACC004_F1 (mesh), it's linked to Content\Materials\Master\M_Character among others, which is master material for many other meshes, and M_Character also invokes a lot of materials from Engine\Content\Functions. So if umodel is trying to iterate through each linked material, it will be like hundreds of them - but only few particular meshes will crash umodel.
I think it's literally impossible to narrow down the issue manually. Because it occurs only with very few meshes (despite other meshes are linked to M_Character in the same way) and they all works fine if you put folders aside (i.e. error occurs when you open the whole game, but doesn't occur if you open physically separated Characters\ACC or Characters\Monster folders). I've tried a lot of separated assets, but this crash can be reproduced only within the whole game context.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2021, 15:55 by spiritovod » Logged
Cow
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
Re: [Switch] Bravely Default II
« Reply #11 on: March 13, 2021, 22:35 »

@spiritovod: Do you have any idea why some UI textures are turning out this way?
There's this increasing 128px offset that pushes the texture to the right every 256px.
I tried to fix them manually in Photoshop but I always end up missing the bottom right part of the texture.

I'm trying to get all the card game textures but they all have the same problem.


* screenshot.png (173.65 KB, 802x772 - viewed 31 times.)
Logged
spiritovod
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 382


View Profile
Re: [Switch] Bravely Default II
« Reply #12 on: March 14, 2021, 00:41 »

@Cow: It's a known issue in umodel, when both switch swizzling and compression (non-DXT ones, like ASTC or BC7) are used, especially in case if its dimensions are not multiple of 128. I can only suggest to use third-party tools to extract and convert textures from such assets manually.
For example, if you'll use rawtex on corresponding uexp file (T_CG_Card_023.uexp) with the following parameters: offset = 0x193, texture dimensions = 2048x256, BC7, switch swizzle - you'll get something like the attachment.


* T_CG_Card_023.png (168.92 KB, 2048x256 - viewed 22 times.)
* rawtex.zip (240.19 KB - downloaded 9 times.)
« Last Edit: March 21, 2021, 17:30 by spiritovod » Logged
Cow
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
Re: [Switch] Bravely Default II
« Reply #13 on: March 14, 2021, 13:40 »

@spiritovod: Thank you very much! works perfectly like that. laugh
Logged
spiritovod
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 382


View Profile
Re: [Switch] Bravely Default II
« Reply #14 on: April 12, 2021, 20:40 »

Specific umodel build with zstd compression support added to the first post. With it you can view assets directly from pak. It should also work with any other game using the same compression method. If you'll bump into compression related errors with that build, please let me know.
Logged
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Leviathan design by Bloc | XHTML | CSS